Intellectual innovation and intersections – The Moholy-Nagy Award 2023 is coming up

Date: 2023.11.14
What is the link between Albert László Barabási, Krisztina Passuth, Dieter Rahms, and Pál Frenák? Beyond their outstanding cultural contribution, they are connected by the Moholy-Nagy Award, of which they are the holders along with 14 of their peers. Since 2006, the award is presented each year to an individual whose outstanding artistic, research, or creative activity is founded on the same values as those of the university and its eponym.

In 2006, the university adopted the name of László Moholy-Nagy, and on the initiative of former rector Gábor Kopek, the Moholy-Nagy Award was established. The recognition serves to communicate the still-relevant thoughts and ideals of Moholy-Nagy, one of the leading lights of the Bauhaus movement, to figures in Hungarian and international art and academic scene, setting his ethos as a model for future generations to follow.

The award recipients and the university community are connected through creativity, integrative thinking, intellectual innovation, and responsibility. So who are they after all?

Moholy-Nagy Award winners include archaeologist and art historian Hattula Moholy-Nagy, art philosopher Hannes Böhringer, art historian Krisztina Passuth, curator Karole P. B. Vail, and art historian Olivér Botár. They are also linked by their contribution to raising awareness of the significance of Moholy-Nagy’s oeuvre, and improving understanding of its influence on contemporary culture. This helped preserve the legacy of the university’s eponym, and in turn, build MOME’s intellectual base.

Laureates include several groundbreaking professors previously teaching at MOME’s predecessor, including architect and interior designer István Gergely, music historian Imre Földes, architects Zsófia Csomay and Péter Reimholz, product designers Stefan Lengyel and Ernő Rubik. Throughout their decades-long teaching career they have nurtured generations of designers, enacted education reforms, and made significant contributions to transcending the boundaries of art fields and gaining acceptance for interdisciplinary thinking, as demonstrated by physicist and network researcher Albert-László Barabási, choreographer Pál Frenák, graphic designer Kálmán Tibor, poet and literary translator Ádám Nádasdy, trombonist László Gőz, and director Balázs Kovalik. Their critical and responsible thinking is exemplary for the MOME community.

In 2023, another artist of similar calibre will receive the award – stay tuned for further updates. 

More news

Can stories be told through textiles, and what messages can they carry? The Poznań Magdalena Abakanowicz University of Arts released issue 44 of the Zeszyty Artystyczne (Artistic Notes) magazine under the title Textile Art: In the face of contemporary times, covering contemporary endeavours in textile art, which has become an independent artistic branch after a long time.

CheckINN Revitalisator 2024, the joint idea competition of CheckINN Turisztikai Innovációmenedzsment Kft. and the Moholy-Nagy University of Art and Design has just kicked off, with a cash prize of HUF 3 million for the team with the best revitalisation idea. The competition is inviting entries by mostly architecture and tourism and hospitality students for reinventing rust zone sites, giving abandoned industrial buildings a new purpose while preserving their original values and making an appreciable touristic impact.

The second semester of the MOME Service Design specialised training kicked off with a four-day intensive workshop with lead service designers of Laerdel Medical’s Norwegian centre Katalin Dóczi-Nagy and Antonia Fedlmeier, involving the students in the development of a currently running live project.
Member of the European
Network of
Higher Education Institutions
9 Zugligeti St,
Budapest, 1121