Intellectual innovation and intersections – The Moholy-Nagy Award 2023 is coming up

Date: 2023.11.14
What is the link between Albert László Barabási, Krisztina Passuth, Dieter Rahms, and Pál Frenák? Beyond their outstanding cultural contribution, they are connected by the Moholy-Nagy Award, of which they are the holders along with 14 of their peers. Since 2006, the award is presented each year to an individual whose outstanding artistic, research, or creative activity is founded on the same values as those of the university and its eponym.

In 2006, the university adopted the name of László Moholy-Nagy, and on the initiative of former rector Gábor Kopek, the Moholy-Nagy Award was established. The recognition serves to communicate the still-relevant thoughts and ideals of Moholy-Nagy, one of the leading lights of the Bauhaus movement, to figures in Hungarian and international art and academic scene, setting his ethos as a model for future generations to follow.

The award recipients and the university community are connected through creativity, integrative thinking, intellectual innovation, and responsibility. So who are they after all?

Moholy-Nagy Award winners include archaeologist and art historian Hattula Moholy-Nagy, art philosopher Hannes Böhringer, art historian Krisztina Passuth, curator Karole P. B. Vail, and art historian Olivér Botár. They are also linked by their contribution to raising awareness of the significance of Moholy-Nagy’s oeuvre, and improving understanding of its influence on contemporary culture. This helped preserve the legacy of the university’s eponym, and in turn, build MOME’s intellectual base.

Laureates include several groundbreaking professors previously teaching at MOME’s predecessor, including architect and interior designer István Gergely, music historian Imre Földes, architects Zsófia Csomay and Péter Reimholz, product designers Stefan Lengyel and Ernő Rubik. Throughout their decades-long teaching career they have nurtured generations of designers, enacted education reforms, and made significant contributions to transcending the boundaries of art fields and gaining acceptance for interdisciplinary thinking, as demonstrated by physicist and network researcher Albert-László Barabási, choreographer Pál Frenák, graphic designer Kálmán Tibor, poet and literary translator Ádám Nádasdy, trombonist László Gőz, and director Balázs Kovalik. Their critical and responsible thinking is exemplary for the MOME community.

In 2023, another artist of similar calibre will receive the award – stay tuned for further updates. 

More news

Geometriai modellnek indult, majd a világ egyik legismertebb térbeli logikai játéka lett belőle. Generációk nőttek fel a bűvös kocka oldalait forgatva, és a mai napig versenyeket rendeznek abból, ki tudja minél rövidebb idő alatt kirakni, azaz a kilenc azonos színű kisebb kockát egy-egy oldalra mozgatni anélkül, hogy szétszedné. A bűvös kocka, amelyet Rubik Ernő a MOME elődintézményében, az Iparművészeti Főiskolán alkotott meg, 2024-ben ünnepli 50. születésnapját, sőt alkotója is jubilál, idén 80 éves.

MOME students triumphed at the Red Dot Design Awards, often referred to as the "Oscars of the design world" with revolutionary concepts including a hybrid tram, a modular pram, an innovative VR headset for home workouts, and a stretcher designed for rough terrains. These award-winning projects were developed under the new preparatory programme of the Moholy-Nagy University of Art and Design, whose success is demonstrated by five out of twelve submissions receiving accolades.

It is a long-standing tradition of our University to entrust designing the visual identity of the MOME Diploma, from graphic design to the portrait photography of BA and MA students, to students through a competition. The annually refreshed concept thus reflects the university community from within, creating an important snapshot of the times and a unique keepsake for each graduating year.
Member of the European
Network of
Higher Education Institutions
9 Zugligeti St,
Budapest, 1121